So this is real life

So begins another adventure, so begins another blog!

And this adventure, it is coming up soon. In just about 6 days, I will be leaving good ol’ Greenville, South Carolina, USA, to begin a year of teaching English to elementary schoolers in Madrid, Spain. It’s a dream I’ve had ever since I returned from studying abroad in Sevilla, Spain (south of Spain: think beaches, traditional culture, very laid-back), and I couldn’t be happier to be turning my dream into reality.

en Sevilla, mi hogar

en Sevilla, mi hogar

Now’s as good a time as ever to introduce myself, I guess. My name is Amit, and I just graduated this past May from the University of South Carolina (and the South Carolina Honors College, for what it’s worth) with a major in broadcast journalism, minor in political science and cognate in Spanish. How I got to this point in my life is kind of odd: I went into college completely in love with journalism and focused on a career as a reporter as soon as I graduated.

Ahh, the Firenze sunset... you are missed.

Ahh, the Firenze sunset… you are missed.

However, I for some reason had this strange, strong desire to see Venice, Italy, the famed “city on water,” when I entered college. So, in the summer after my freshmen year, I decided to study abroad in Florence/Firenze, Italy, without really knowing why. And I absolutely loved it — the new people, the new languages, the new culture, a completely different approach to the day than what is typical here in the U.S. After that experience, I had to study abroad again, so I spent the next spring semester in Sevilla.

That’s where I had my eyes opened (cliché, yes, but I really can’t think of any other way to put it) to all of the other opportunities out there in life — that I could actually do things other than journalism as a career. I still loved journalism, but I’d discovered new passions in traveling and meeting new cultures. I spent hours trying to find a way to make a living abroad after returning from Sevilla, and I somehow stumbled upon the program I will be starting in just about a week — an English language teaching assistantship program through the Spanish government.

After interning with API, the company I studied abroad with in Spain (also, I highly recommend API! best study abroad provider out there!), I really began to see my life take a direction away from journalism and towards international education and international relations. I just finished waiting tables to save up some money for España this summer, but I was very lucky to be reached out to by API a few weeks ago to do some work for them at some study abroad fairs. Now, my life more than ever is focused on some sort of international career.

I still have close to zero clue of what I’m doing with my life. Everybody always said those four years of college zoom by, and that maxim couldn’t be truer; I am finding that real life is immensely harder than college life, and I haven’t even moved out of my parents’ home yet. I’ve taken the GRE, maybe

A taste of what I've been doing the past few weeks -- study abroad with API!!

A taste of what I’ve been doing the past few weeks — study abroad with API!!

I’ll go to grad school; who knows? At this point, my main career goal is to become a Foreign Service Officer with the U.S. State Dept.

Anyway, that’s a lot of rambling and a lot of words just to say that I’m Amit, and I will spend the next year teaching English in Spain. If you’re reading this, I hope you find my thoughts interesting. I’ve always thought it important to keep records of big life experiences like this one. I tend to speak in sentences with a lot of clauses and a lot of parentheticals, and I like to throw in some Spanglish every now and then — so fair warning!

I’ll probably write a couple more blog posts before I leave the States, just for record-keeping more than anything. ¡Hasta pronto, mis amigos!

2 comments

  1. Awesome post! I just took the FSOT exam today. It went better than I expected. As an American who lived abroad in his 20s (working at a hostel in Rome, Italy), the opening of your eyes is not cliche AT ALL.

    If it helps, you will figure out this life. I promise. But enjoy the heck out of having “zero clue,” it is often the best time to let in the most amazing people and experiences.

  2. Hi, thanks for the compliment and the advice! I thought the exam went pretty well, I feel like I’m right on the edge of passing or not passing. What did you think, and was it your first time taking the FSOT?

Leave a Reply

